Motion Blur – Shaky Footage with Mocha

Tracking and defining tracking area sometime can be tricky and might not act or work accurately. There are possible reasons behind why sometime Mocha loses the track or the patterns we have selected to track, though mocha has seen a smart track motion software but still there are conditions that we need to have our footage suitable for tracking, this is some how conventional.

In one of the test and try occasions I went outside and filmed myself over the shoulder with a bit of high/bird eye view/angle with the help of a friend. My initial purpose was to get my iphone in my hand, then later track it and change the screen to a video footage. I thought my footage is perfect, and sometime camera screens mainly with DSLRs can be deceiving you may seen a sharp footage but once viewed in computer can be a nightmare. As a first trier in mocha and getting to learn basics, I was a lot confident that my footage will work and I will be able to track it easily, unfortunately it wasn’t the case.

The specific reasons after studying the footage, were around too much shaky camera, but that will be dealt with adding some stabiliser, but having a less detailed footage when motion blurred is created, as the mocha will lost the sharp edges of the selected area or the patterns. Adding to this reason which was quite noticeable while watched the footage on bigger screen, was my own movements. I was being fast and the camera shutter speed or frame rate wasn’t able to cope with it, this also added to create the bad motion blurred and confuse the mocha tracking. I would suggest if filmed in higher frame rate will increase the chances of creating much better tracking when slow-mo is applied, as per my own research I saw most of the corporate videos that used mocha for their advertise adding texts and logos they have used slow-mo… but yeah this is not necessary, as this can be more for a stylistic reason. if you have a better depth of field rather than having a creative depth of field which is about creating lots of blurred background, or surrounding area –  which means having a higher f stop will help you have large depth of field to cover the subject and surrounding areas to be able later to use those details in mocha to track it accurately and precise.

In my later post I will cover on the importance of lighting and details in a video for tracking.

Example 1 – In here you can see the background is pretty much blurred and that has confused tracking as well, while camera has been shaky too.

Screen Shot 2015-01-19 at 15.10.19

 

Example 2 – The track is slow moving off the area and it isn’t following its define area/pattern.
Screen Shot 2015-01-19 at 15.10.24

Example 3 – In this example you can see there is a bad track example ( because selected a very small area that has no details but only colour).

Screen Shot 2015-01-19 at 15.45.11

Example 4 – It is still trying hard to keep the area tide and in tracking but it won’t go longer for more than few frames, as my hands start moving up to my hears it slow loses the track.

Screen Shot 2015-01-19 at 15.45.12

Example 5 – Here is another example of blurred motion and losing the tracking pattern.

Screen Shot 2015-01-19 at 15.45.38

In this example clearly the track has lost it’s area… and for such examples I need more than one or two layers for tacking.Screen Shot 2015-01-19 at 15.46.35

Leave a Reply

