Bentalls – New & Old – Masking (Past – Present Project)

 

Using old photographic documents/photos and combining new modern days life/photographic. I scanned some photos of Kingston upon Thames area, and I planned to photograph them all but unfortunately some of them were taken from angles that are not easy access or due to safety issues access is blocked. The only one that I could possible get this project started was close to college and Bentalls. Nothing much have changed to create very strong piece of work on historic photographic combination/present & past.
Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 16.50.11Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 16.36.27Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 16.28.20 Screen Shot 2014-10-20 at 16.27.25 Final

_________________

 

 

I worked on this piece of work too, it took me 1hr or something, though angles and composition is a bitter different but it worked in my favour.mainoutput Screen Shot 2014-12-08 at 15.52.57 Screen Shot 2014-12-08 at 15.58.20 Screen Shot 2014-12-08 at 16.02.39 Screen Shot 2014-12-08 at 16.06.06 Screen Shot 2014-12-08 at 16.07.12 Screen Shot 2014-12-08 at 16.07.45 Screen Shot 2014-12-08 at 16.08.32

Evalution

This project seemed very easy at start but definitely it is all down to know the place and also be creative to have a better outcome of the main piece. Looking at industry examples I saw more of world word pictures that were combined and most of them were taken in a moment where it had a better chance to take them. I chose this one as this was way too easy for accessing, no any other reason. Others I scanned are still possible to combine but only if access is given to it easily, I scanned some of the bridge which I found was not possible to take photos, and taking form different angle than the scanned old version then it won’t match. I get to learn more on how to use masking tool and brushes to mask, I thought was always clone concept but I found out with this project that how easy masking can help in these cases, and much beyond this point. As it is clear nothing has changed with Bentalls building, but I want to insist on something, which actually captured my attention, first the CCTV camera,  diversity of people comparing to old days, and public transport. I liked the way CCTV camera is standing there and people are being monitored. It is what makes me feel this piece of work is good and enough strong for such activism ideas. In old days there used to be a light, but that has changed to a CCTV camera now. The front of the building hasn’t changed much and shockingly the trees where the same when I compared both photos. Working with new concept, brushes and masking developed a good experience in my graphic skills and now understand how such projects are generated. I do see this piece of work basic but definitely as first timer learning and working around photoshop I am happy to be able develop this piece.

 

Leave a Reply

